George Mason University Antonin Scalia Law School

Ninth Annual Global Antitrust Institute Invitational Moot Court

Moot Court winners pictured

Congratulations to Howard University School of Law students Leah Herring (2nd from left) and Alexis Nail (2nd from right) for winning the Ninth Annual Global Antitrust Institute (GAI) Invitational Moot Court Competition on February 26, 2023! They impressed the judges as advocates for the plaintiffs in the competition.


New York University School of Law students Sasha Kliger (2nd from right above) and Sophia Cianfrani (2nd from left) were awarded Runners-up in the competition, arguing for the defendent.

Hosted by the Antonin Scalia Law School Moot Court Board with the Global Antitrust Institute and Senior Circuit Judge Douglas Ginsburg, the GAI Invitational is the only moot court competition in the United States devoted exclusively to antitrust law.

The competition included three preliminary rounds, one quarterfinal round, two semi-final rounds, and one final round. The students argued before an esteemed panel of judges, including Thomas Barnett (pictured on the left in the photos above), partner at Covington & Burlington and former assistant attorney general; Judge Douglas Ginsburg (pictured center), senior judge, US Court of Appeals for the DC Circuit; and Howard Shelanski (pictured right), partner at Davis Polk & Wardwell. Preliminary Rounds were held on February 25, 2023 and Semifinals and Finals were held on February 26, 2023.

The winning students are:

Howard University School of Law: Alexis Nail and Leah Herring

New York University School of Law students Sasha Kliger and Sophia Cianfrani

semifinalist, best brief

Georgetown Law: Tate Rosenblatt, Elizabeth LaPaugh, and Chase Gordon (pictured at left, l-r)

The Washington and Lee University School of Law: Max Blumenthal and Tanner Bowen

Best Brief:
Georgetown Law: Tate Rosenblatt, Chase Gordon, Elizabeth LaPaugh

Best Oralist:
Georgetown Law: Tate Rosenblatt


University of Michigan Law School: Benjamin Apelbaum, Wesley Ward, and Neena Menon

Indiana University Maurer School of Law: Conor Delehanty, Ian Finley, and Evan Fitzgerald

The University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law: Tayler Littlejohn, Fasika Delessa, and Morgan Taylor

The George Washington University Law School: Jason Long and Jackson Kitchin